tropical paradise in my backyard

IMG_5976

I had a lovely weekend working on the yard and enjoying the beatiful weather.  Several times I stated my mantra to the kids-“THIS IS THE LIFE!”  They started catching on.  What could be better than relaxing on your deck with a pool, drinks, bbq and gardening?  Nothing.

IMG_5968

My cool new couch that I found for $35 at a garage sale.  I LOVE it!  I do need to add a few fun cushions.

IMG_5982

The new walkway put in this week.

IMG_5985

The view of the veg beds from the walkway.

IMG_5977

The beds-slow but steady.  I really need to get some new grids on to define that this IS a square foot garden

IMG_5987

my potted tomatoes.  I just saw yesterday I have 2 little babies growing!  I almost cried, I was so excited for them.

IMG_5986

view of our messy deck.  The neighbors are most likely annoyed by the fact that our yard is always strewn with toys and our kids are ALWAYS outside

IMG_6005

my goofballs enjoying the pool for EVERYTHING BUT actually swimming

IMG_6013

momma enjoying the sun

IMG_5965

our fuel for the weekend, homemade granola bars.  enjoy!

Miche’s peanut butter granola bars

cooking spray

2 tsp flour

2/3 cup flour

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup rolled oats

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 cups brown sugar

2 Tbsp veg oil

2 Tbsp milk

2 large eggs

1/3 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cups granola

3/4 cup chopped dried fruit mix*

1/3 cup peanuts

1/2 cup coconu**

Oven 350F.  Coat 9″x13″ pan with oil then dust with flour.  Combine first dry ingredients and stir.  Beat wet ingredients seperately.  Add flour mixture to wet and beat well.  Fold in granola fruit and peanuts.  Spoon batter into prepared pan.  Sprinkle with coconut.  Bake for 25 mins until golden brown.  Cut into bars.  Enjoy!

*I have used many different combos of dried fruit now.  It’s fun to experiment.  This weekend I used dried cherries and chopped crystalized ginger and that was YUMMY!

**original recipe said to use sweetened but I just used unsweetened and they are just as good.  Your choice.

2 thoughts on “tropical paradise in my backyard

  1. wow Michelle your backyard looks great! I love that couch…super cute!!
    I’m glad your tomatos are doing so well, it’s so exciting isn’t it? I’ve got a few “little babies” myself!

Leave a Reply

