Palm Springs: designer’s dream

Sorry I’ve been away.  But I was a lucky girl this past weekend and spent my days basking in some lovely sunshine in Palm Springs, CA.  This was my Christmas present from a very romantic husband of mine.  He wrapped up an empty box for me to open Christmas morning and after a confused miche stared into loose tissue paper, he presented me with an itinerary of Southern California fun and pre-arranged childcare!   I didn’t know that Palm Springs was a mecca of mid-century modern design- but after googling our destination a few times for some fun things to see and do, I was delightfully surprised by this.  I LOVE mid-century design and architecture.  Palm Springs was a hot-spot for many Hollywood celebs during it’s earlier days.  Marilyn Monroe was supposedly discovered at one of these swanky hotel clubs.  Anyways, I loved it and we had a fabulous time finding design inspiration everywhere.  Here are some of the highlights.  Enjoy!

Couldn’t start the first morning without a mimosa!

I think I drove one of these in a former life.

He’s romantic and good-lookin’

Isn’t this beautiful?  It’s the front desk of a J.Crew store.

This became our favorite place to dine after a recommendation from friends

Only in California

Quite possibly the coolest looking Target

I have always loved room dividers with this kind of graphic-appeal

I love french-press coffee in the classic bodum!

A couple in love enjoying our very relaxed state 🙂

4 thoughts on “Palm Springs: designer’s dream

  1. It looks like you guys had such a good time! And I’m definitely loving the design…the room divider is exactly what I’m looking for for my room!

  2. What a great Christmas present…. I got the same thing!! Except Grant’s taking me to San Fransisco, not Palm Springs….
    Looks like you guys had a great time, I love all the pictures!

  3. Nice pictures. But now I want a funny post about the seamless journey home… and the frazzled kids and grandparents and aunts on the other end!

Leave a Reply

